Atlanta GA DSL
Web Mail          Order Service          Contact Us          FAQ


We would love to have your comments listed here!!
Sign up today and see for yourself why Atlantic Nexus is the only choice for DSL in Atlanta.

The following reviews were posted by our customers on Broadband Reports...
http://www.dslreports.com/comments/2572

Review by Debbie M




Marietta,Cobb,GA
$32 per month (6 month contract)
about 2 days
AT&T
"Customer Service, Price, Speed"
"None"
"I wouldn't even consider changing!!!"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    The customer service at ATNEX is phenomenal! The representatives at ATNEX always answer any questions that I have concerning my connection. They have also been wonderful with helping this technologically-challenged woman with my computer. They never made me feel "stupid" when I ask "stupid" questions. I get frequent calls from BellSouth and Charter Communications trying to sell their services...I always tell them that I wouldn't change if their services were free.

==============================================================

Review by Ataru



Smyrna,Cobb,GA
$39 per month
about 5 days
BellSouth
"Sales available at all hours, nice/helpful/knowledgeable tech support personnel"
"None to report thus far"
"Worth every penny above any corporate ISP"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    I admit, I've only been a customer for a few days, but AtNex has so far done a great job of removing any lingering doubts I had about jumping ship from SpeedFactory. I called their sales department at 2:00 AM on a Sunday morning on a whim, and lo and behold, a human being in this country answered the phone and took my order. Was up and running two and a half days earlier than the stated time (and perhaps more, if I had had time to verify). Static IP wasn't assigned correctly at first due to the flood of SF refugees, called up, and although they didn't call me back as they said they would (it was late at night, I imagine they have some policy about not returning calls past a certain hour), I was able to reach another very friendly tech when I called back. This tech fixed the problem with essentially the bare minimum of information from me, which tells me that these folks know their business, and furthermore was happy to take my request for DNS hosting rather than have me call back in the morning. (And I received a confirmation e-mail of the DNS setup within 10 minutes of calling, amazing!) All in all I am delighted to be here thus far and look forward to a great customer experience.

    (Update - It did take me a bit of time to get tech support to understand what I wanted with DNS hosting, but at all times they were nice and friendly, and impressed me again by returning my tech support call at 9:30 PM on a Friday night. In the time it took to get everything set up to my liking (a few days), I have been unable to confirm that my Speedfactory account has been cancelled, so it has been an improvement in every way, and infinitely less frustrating than dealing with a droid in India reading a script when I call.)

==============================================================

Review by lyramisu



Atlanta,Dekalb,GA
$39 per month (6 month contract)
about 2 days
AT&T
"Fast provisioning, personable staff, less expensive local provider"
"Minor technical error during account setup"
"If you're looking for a local/regional provider, it's a good bet."
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    I signed up for service from Atlantic Nexus during Speed Factory's massive 4/2008 outage. I was able to get someone on the phone promptly on a Saturday afternoon, and they said my line would be provisioned on Monday. The rep was also glad to answer my laundry list of questions about everything from latency to what will happen if Atnext can't provide service to my new home when I move in a few months.

    My provisioning was done when the rep on the phone said it would be (and two days before my confirmation e-mail said), and I was able to get my network up with my existing equipment. The only hiccup was that the tech mistyped the account name I hoped to use so I couldn't authenticate at first, but a quick and friendly call to support fixed that on the spot.

    So far, the service is clean and fast, and it's $10 cheaper for a top-of-the-line package than I was paying Speed Factory. I'm a World of Warcraft player, and I was reluctant to leave Speed Factory because I had always had very little latency on my connection. Now, my latency is still in the green, maybe a fraction slower than with Speed Factory, but barely enough to notice (and that may clear itself up with some tweaks on my end).

==============================================================

Review by computog



Buford,Gwinnett,GA
Contract price not specified.
about 2 days
AT&T
"Solid Connection and Service"
"Can't think of any"
"Would recommend highly to friends"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Atlantic Nexus has been a rock solid provider since I transferred over from Speed Factory back in February of this year. The connection is solid, download just over 3k and upload around 325. Tech support is great- the guys have helped my wife get through a few email issues with her Macbook and most recently setting her up with some web space. Best of all, they call back when they say they will, something my former ISP never got right.

    Atnex handled the transfer of my service to my new home flawlessly. They said it would be live on the day the phone service was activated. I tried yesterday (the day after phone went live) and had DSL. I connected at half the speed, and after a call to support figured it might be a distance issue.

    After running several tests, they scheduled AT&T to come out to make sure it wasn't the line. I actually discovered the issue myself after a noisy phone conversation. I had forgotten a filter on an active phone. Once that was on, full speed. I called back support to cancel the AT&T line tech. I've been surfing at full 3k since.

    Bottom line is Atnex is what all ISP's should be. I will not use anyone else and will recommend Atnex to whoever needs an excellent internet service provider.

==============================================================

Review by nhdson


Acworth,Cobb,GA
$32 per month (6 month contract)
about 2 days
AT&T
"love the home page-and speaking to some one who speaks English as a first language."
"Haven't discovered any as of yet.- Service questions were answered promptly, and with understanding of my level of expertise."
"Will definitely recommend to others-fast speed, friendly service and helpful."
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    I had been a customer of Bell South for years with a few complaints. Recently, I have had several connection problems. After spending an hour on two seperate occasions, speaking with a customer service rep in India or someplace that could not understand my "accent" I was completely fed up. The connection speed was not as fast as I wanted it to be.

    I heard from a fellow employee about Atnex. She said the service was really good.

    I decided to try it and really enjoyed the experence. I LOVE the home page. After Bell South I can't believe how much better it fills my needs..

==============================================================

Review by pcollie1



Acworth,Cobb,GA
$32 per month (6 month contract)
about 2 days
AT&T
"Fast and efficient"
"None"
"Love it!"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Great Service! Glad that I found this company. I have had difficulty with other companies in the past and just decided that I wouldn't have the internet in my home because I didn't want the trouble. Atlantic Nexus is different. Their customer service is quick to resolve any glitches that you might have. I will recommend this company to my friends. Can't wait for any additional services they might provide.

==============================================================

Review by hubbledeep


Decatur,Dekalb,GA
$39 per month
about 1 days
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    TC was on of the most professional and knowledgable Customer Service/Technical Support Professionals I have ever worked with regarding connectivity issues with my new laptop! He demonstrated his expertise by helping my to quickly gain access to the internet! Because of him, I have enhanced my speed, and will remain a loyal, lifetime Atlantic Nexus customer! Thanks TC! Keep up the great HARD work!!!

==============================================================

Review by billybob53



Alpharetta,Fulton,GA
$40 per month (6 month contract)
about 1 days
BellSouth
"Great service, they know what they are doing, they speak English"
"None"
"The best I've ever had"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    I've been very happy with Atlantic Nexus since starting with them about six months ago. The switchover from Earthlink was instant and flawless. I recently had some occasional erratic connections and after my third report they sent their technician out to my house because 'it shouldn't act like that'. After looking at everything he found an obscure problem in a defective connector which immediately fixed the problem. Although the connector was mine, he replace it and the problem went away. No charge for the service call. Any other provider would have tied me up for hours on the phone and had me reboot my modem until hell froze over.

    In addition, the upload and download speeds I consistently get have been triple what I got from EarthLink for about the same price. These guys are great. I have their 3 meg DSL service.

==============================================================

Review by DJEpoch


Atlanta,Dekalb,GA
Contract price not specified.
about 7 days
BellSouth
"Excellent speed, great service"
"Relies on BellSouth for connectivity"
"Should have switched to Atlatic Nexus years ago!"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Having been a long time Mindspring/Earthlink customer I was hesitant to make a change to another provider, but after repeated calls to Earthlink tech support about the dreadful speed of my "high-speed" PPPoE DSL line (usually 500 kb download - paying $50/mo) and no improvement, I hit DSLreports and started searching providers in the Atlanta area. When I got to the reviews for Atlantic Nexus, I was surprised to see an almost universal chorus of good reviews. Next day I called them and spoke with one of their techs about my DSL service (and less than a 5 minute hold time! Never saw anywhere NEAR that kind of response with Earthlink!).

    He said up front that while they could not guarantee they could boost my speed, they would do their best to work with BellSouth to get my line optimized. The tech spoke English as a primary language (nice! didn't have to keep telling him to repeat what he last said!), was able to answer all my questions and asked specific questions of his own to make sure he understood my situation. I had two weeks left in my Earthlink billing cycle (they would not disconnect me early.. said it had to be on the last day of my bill!) so Atlantic Nexus sent me a new modem in advance of the changeover. The scheduled changeover day I got a call from the BellSouth tech doing the work saying "You're good on your new provider." I hooked up the modem, one quick call to tech support (answered on the 5th ring!) to get login info to enter into my router settings and took an initial speed test. WOW!!! Worked the first time and the download speed was over 2.1 Mb/s (when you've been "enjoying" 500 kb/s up to then, it's a pleasant surprise!) I never expected to be able to plug up and go - but that's exactly how it went. They even called me two days later just to check and see if I was seeing any better throughput. Now THAT'S customer service!

    Not only am I paying $5 less than Earthlink, my speeds are consistently around 2200/383 (vs 500/122) AND I now have a static IP address for my home web server. VERY happy camper!

==============================================================

Review by BobMerritt


Conyers,Rockdale,GA
$45 per month (6 month contract)
about 2 days
"Everything so far!"
"Absolutely None!"
"I'm saving money and I'm on a better network!!"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Let's see.... On March 9th about 6pm I placed my order via their online form and asked for cutover from my existing ISP for the next Thursday or Friday. Late that evening I get a reply that everything is set for Thursday the 15th and that my modem kit will arrive by Wednesday evening.

    On Monday about 5am I sent an email asking what their DNS servers where since I run static ip at home... within an hour or so I had my answer. Not bad at all for that time of day!

    The kit arrived on Tuesday and cutover went without a hitch on Thursday. I was amazed at the "perception" of a speed increase - (I had suspected for a long time my old ISP's backbone was saturated and dropping packets). Now hitting my own hosted web and Shoutcast servers is excellent.

    Check out this trace to my ShoutCast relay at fast-serv.com...

    1 19 ms 19 ms 19 ms 208.65.90.254
    2 19 ms 19 ms 26 ms 208.65.88.25
    3 21 ms 20 ms 19 ms fa0-14.na01.b002053-0.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com [38.99.207.37]
    4 21 ms 19 ms 19 ms g1-5-3502.core01.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.67.45]
    5 30 ms 30 ms 31 ms p5-0.core02.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.162]
    6 33 ms 32 ms 32 ms t4-3.mpd01.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.5.57]
    7 34 ms 33 ms 32 ms t7-3.mpd01.dca02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.6.26]
    8 32 ms 33 ms 34 ms v3497.mpd01.iad01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.5.66]
    9 32 ms 32 ms 33 ms GIGABIT-1-4.COLO1.ASH1.PTPTECH.NET [209.9.224.133]
    10 32 ms 34 ms 33 ms ip-209-9-224-66.fast-serv.com [209.9.224.66]
    11 33 ms 33 ms 32 ms ip-209-9-238-5.fast-serv.com [209.9.238.5]

    Trace complete.

    During the last couple of days I've been spot checking with pings and I'm getting a consistent 32/33ms to my ShoutCast server. I am 100%++ pleased!!!! And I'm saving money too!!! yeehaww!!!!

    Oh!! and they called me on Friday to make sure everything was A-OK. I'm indicating that it only took 2 days for the hookup, because it could have been done that quickly had I not wanted to push it out.

    The modem kit was free, just had to pay $9.99 for the shipping. 3.5MB service with static ip for $45/month.

    Bob
    Conyers GA

==============================================================

Review by oneijack


Dallas,Paulding,GA
$42 per month (6 month contract)
about 2 days
"Fast Friendly And Knowledgeable."
"None So Far"
"Great Company If You Dont Want To Deal With The Big Guys."
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    I have run the gambit with dsl and cable companies for hi speed net. I needed net and was dreading dealing with Bell South yet again. I even tried Earthlink which was a joke, not sure what was worse, the customer service or the net going down once a week with them. I have had very few problems with Atnex. Actually the only problems I have ever had are caused by Bell South and not them (line problems at the pole, Bell South networks going down etc..) So far I would say I've had a 99% up time and really no complaints. When calling Atnex I get to a real person who speaks "English" and really cares about me. That's a crazy thought, a company that cares about their customers.

==============================================================

Review by Daina06


Kennesaw,Cobb,GA
$32 per month
about 2 days
"Atlantic Nexus was fast, courteous and a first rate company…"
"none"
"I finally found a home...:-)"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Atlantic Nexus ROCKS!!

    I have been tired of dial-up for sometime now…just to lazy to switch…so after complaining long enough (and people tired of hearing me complain…lol) I was informed of a company that provided FASTER SERVICE…ATLANTIC NEXUS, and the rest is HISTORY.

    The Sales representative for Atlantic Nexus was amazing. First I was not on “ETERNAL HOLD” and they were able to answer my questions in a timely manner and very knowledgeable in their product.
    The technical support and customer service team was just as amazing. Since I am very computer illiterate...they made me feel really comfortable with my questions while they installed my service and called what seemed like a million times for help. Both departments were helpful, courteous, friendly and patient.

    For the first time ever, I am VERY VERY VEEEEEEEEERY HAPPY, thrilled and elated about my Internet service. I will be recommending them (Atlantic Nexus) to all my friends and family.

==============================================================

Review by atropos754


Athens,Clarke,GA
$39 per month
about 3 days
BellSouth
CLEC party: BellSouth
"INCREDIBLE customer service, stable as a rock, deliver promised speed"
"They have to rely on Bellsouth"
"Get your DSL service through them. You won't regret it."
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Moved into a new apartment in Athens, GA at the beginning of January, and decided to go with DSL since I had used Charter Cable for so long and was disillusioned with them, both with the connection and the tech/customer support.

    After reading some reviews on this site, I decided to go through Atlantic Nexus. I called to make sure that I could get service at my apartment, waited on hold for about 3-4 minutes, and then was asked to leave my phone number so that a rep could call me back, rather than waste my time on hold. Sure enough, a sales rep called me back within about 5 minutes. They couldn't find my apartment/phone number listed in the system, since it was brand new, but they said they'd get in touch will Bellsouth and make sure that they could offer service

    They called me back the next day and said that they could indeed offer service, so I proceeded to order the 3500/384 service. The modem (An Efficient Networks Speedstream 5260) was waiting for me when I moved into the apartment, but once I connected everything I wasn't able to log in.

    A quick call (at 11pm...these guys offer 24/7 tech support) resolved that there had been a miscommunication in my username, and sure enough, once they fixed it I was able to log on. Unfortunately, I was only getting about 1200/180. I called Atnex (late night again) and they said that it was entered into their system correctly, and that most likely Bellsouth hadn't connected the line properly. They emailed me back about 20 minutes later saying that Bellsouth had promised to have someone look at it within 24 hours.

    Around noon the next day, a different rep called me and said that Bellsouth claimed to have fixed it and asked me to run a speed test. I've been getting 2800+ down /300+ up consistently for the past month, which is nearly perfect for the speeds I ordered.

    The other thing that impressed me was that they actually looked into switching my line from Interleave to Fastpath. Even though the tech I talked to at first wasn't familiar with the terms, he called Bellsouth and spoke with an engineer there. He made the change and just told me that if I was unhappy with it, to call him back. Unfortunately, my line was a bit too noisy for it to work, but I was impressed with how they handled it.

    In short, I've been perfectly happy with my internet connection for the first time ever. I HIGHLY recommend this company.

==============================================================

Review by bwortham


Duluth,Fulton,GA
Contract price not specified. (6 month contract)
about 2 days
BellSouth
"Speeds are very consistent and service is first rate. Reminds me of mindspring when it first started up."
"None"
"I have found a great provider that I plan to stay with for a long time."
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    If nothing else about Atlantic Nexus impresses you, the personal service will blow you away. They know what technical service is suppose to be handled.

==============================================================

Review by bdillahu


Stockbridge,Henry,GA
$32 per month (6 month contract)
about 5 days
BellSouth
"Hooked right up, over a holiday weekend"
"So far, none"
"I'm impressed"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Got fed up with cable service and went shopping... ran across them here on dslreports and the reviews were good. Sent them a couple of emails with questions which were answered by a person with in about an hour. Decided to sign up.

    Filled out the web form at about 3pm on Friday before the New Years holiday weekend. I got a personal "your order has been processed" shortly later telling me that equipment should arrive on Wednesday (Jan 3rd) and the service would be on that day.

    Equipment made it by Tuesday, and when I tried the modem after work Wed. it hooked right up.

    Painless so far, and on time.

==============================================================

Review by Jaggco

Powder Springs,Cobb,GA
$30 per month (6 month contract)
about 2 days
"Excellent service!"
"None"
"Great service!!"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
 

I have had the service for one year and the service has been the best! If there is ever a problem with my PC hardware / software the problem has been fixed ASAP. Highly recommend the service!!
Gilbert

==============================================================

Review by jamesp41


Powder Springs,Cobb,GA
$29 per month
"Outstanding service for a reasonable price."
"I would never consider those mega providers again."
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    We have had the service for several years now. The connection is always there, until we recently changed our home phone service. In talking to the new phone company they claimed they were not informed of the DSL service and it would be 7 to 10 days before the service would be back up. I figured it would be worth a shot to see if Atlantic Nexus could help get the service up any quicker. I explained the issue to the Atlantic Nexus customer support person, who said he would see what could do and he would call be back. He did call me back and said the best they could promise was getting the service up in 24 to 48 hours, much better than 7 to 10 days. Within 2 hours I noticed the DSL light on my DSL modem was green, and sure enough the connection was back up. They showed that they care about their customers.

==============================================================

Review by jflorence21


Atlanta,Fulton,GA
$45 per month
about 7 days
BellSouth
CLEC party: BellSouth
"Awesome customer support and service has been flawless"
"None"
"This is so much better than Comcast....................."
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Before switching to Atlantic Nexus, I had previously been a Comcast cable/internet customer for the past 2 1/2 years. I was always experiencing problems with their service, but HEY, I had 6Mbps downloads!!! The constant service interruptions bundled with the mental midgets I was always dealing with at Comcast brought me to the conclusion that they were one of the worst companies I have ever had to deal with.

    So...I jumped on broadbandreports and found such awesome reviews for Atnex that I immediately ordered a phone line from Bellsouth and made the switch to the 3.0Mbps service.. The customer support has been awesome so far, and the service has not gone down one time in the past month. I am paying a little more per month than I was before, but at this point I do not care because I am a firm believer that you get what you pay for.....

    Thanks for the great service guys, and keep up the great work!

    Jeremy

==============================================================

Review by dward


Powder Springs,Cobb,GA
$29 per month (6 month contract)
about 2 days
BellSouth
CLEC party: BellSouth
"Personal attention. Excellent Service"
"None"
"Would recommend service to all friends and businesses."
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Since I switched from Bell South to Atnex, the quality and professionalism of the company has been excellent. The staff has always been on hand to help me with any problems I encountered. To deal with a company where you have a "close" relationship with the staff is a breath of fresh air. I t was very annoying to always talk to a computer when I called in to Bell South!! Atnex has been great to me and I hope other will soon switch over so they can enjoy the same great service that I do. THANKS ATNEX!!!!!!!

==============================================================

Review by toddandrobin


Powder Springs,Cobb,GA
$29 per month
"all good"
"none"
"excellent isp"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)

     

    I have used Atnex since Jan. of 2004 and have been very happy. The only complaints I have are that they make me pay for the service and I wish I could get a cool coffee mug. Other than that, Atnex is top notch.

    Todd

==============================================================

Review by (hidden by request)


Atlanta,Fulton,GA
$29 per month
"excellent customer service and excellent service"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    I had an awesome experience with ATNEX in Atlanta, GA. They have ALWAYS been very helpful and knowledgeable about DSL service. The service techs have responded in a quick and efficient manner, and have helped me with many other computer related issues. I highly recommend this company for anyone wanting DSL service in their home or business.

    Vickey Wile

==============================================================

Review by bevills1


Mcdonough,Henry,GA
$32 per month (6 month contract)
about 5 days
"Much better and more friendly service"
"None yet"
"Would highly recommend to all"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    My very positive experience is echoed by the gkucala in Swanee, Gwinnett, Georgia review except I don't have IFITL. BellSouth probably would have continued charging me their usual rate significantly higher than that offered to new customers, and naturally they offered me that better rate when I told them I was changing providers to which I told them no thanks. Around 10 to 12 years ago before broadband I had dialup service with a small company called Access1 which unfortunately went out of business, and that was the best dialup provider I ever had and was sorry to see their demise. Atlantic Nexus is just as good if not better with their great broadband service as Access1 was for dialup.

    Atlantic Nexus could have had me on their service by 2/27, but I told them I didn't want it started until 3/1 becuase my BellSouth serivce was paid through 2/28. Further I told Atlantic Nexus I needed service active on 3/1 by 9 AM, and service was available a little before 8 AM when I first tried to access it. They give you a modem and only charge $9.95 shipping cost unlike other providers that charge about $100 and then make you send and have to wait on a mail in rebate. Not only that, but I noticed the modem sent appeared identical to a modem I had from a previous provider, and they told me I could refuse delivery on the one sent and receive credit for shipping charge!

    Additionally Atlantic Nexus support told me about a link where I could learn to upgrade my SpeedStream 5260 modem to a 5660 SpeedStream to work with their service. That upgrade experience may be found in the Efficient section of forum on Broadband Reports if any are interested. The wonderful things that can be said about this great provider seems endless, and I hope they're around for many more years to come.

==============================================================

Review by bjornb


Marietta,Cobb,GA
$36 per month (6 month contract)
about 20 days
BellSouth
"No pressure sales, very helpful and informative"
"None"
"They rock!"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    Had used my previous DSL provider for several years, but tired of week-day only support. Had service turnoff pre-scheduled (was told BellSouth couldn't give a time).
    Got up in the morning of the start of my service with Atlantic Nexus, service was off as expected.
    Logged into my DSL modem (PPPoE) and entered my Atlantic Nexus id and password.
    Bingo, up and running!
    Smoothest cutover ever.
    These guys are the best!

==============================================================

Review by shrtckt


Athens,Clarke,GA
$42 per month (6 month contract)
about 1 days
BellSouth
CLEC party: Covad
"Everything"
"None"
"Highly recommend"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
 


I ordered a 3.5mb dsl service for $42.99 in a 6 month contract. CSR's are American & the company is located in Powder Springs, GA. The order process went very fast & flawless. The service was up in about 8 hrs. According to the Atl speakeasy speed test server, I am getting 3033/303 (DSL/dynamic/PPPoE). They sent me a SpeedStream (Efficient Networks, Inc) modem that seems to work well. I am very pleased with the service & highly recommend it.

Scott

==============================================================

Review by gkucala

Suwanee,Gwinnett,GA
$35 per month (6 month contract)
about 14 days
"Customer service; price; reviews written about them here"
"None so far"
"Highly recommended"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    We were looking to cut our monthly costs and the ISP we've been with for 3 years had us at $49.99. They didn't tell us that a while back they dropped their rates to $32.99 if we signed a new contract. We looked into it and didn't like signing up again for another 12 months, port 25 was blocked (unless I paid an additional $9.95 per month), and there was the additional subscriber fee. So we came here and started to search out a new ISP.

    The reviews you'll find here about Atlantic Nexus, or AtNex, are informative, extremely positive, and I agree!

    The customer service calls I made were all handled by the same representive, who was patient, kind, and very helpful. He gave me some pointers on how to do the cut-over, such as find out about the termination process with my current ISP, and setting the cut-over date. I had additional questions along the way and they were all answered.

    Yesterday was the cut-over date. I was concerned because your internet access had not gone down, so I call AtNex. They confirmed services had been activated.

    Well, did you know that DSL over IFITL means you can have more than one ISP provider? Yep. I was able to log onto AtNex, log out and log back into my old ISP. (I overlapped services by a week.) Pretty cool. I tested AtNex against my old ISP and they are competitive in speed. And like every other IFITL-serviced customer, I'm waitng for BellSouth to upgrade their equipment to support higher speeds.

    BOTTOMLINE: AtNex requires a 6 month contract, not 12, is saving me almost $15 per month, doesn't block my ports, gives me a dynamic IP at 1.5Mbps down (actually a little faster than that) and 256Kbps up, and has top-of-class customer service. I can't get that anywhere else.

==============================================================

Review by josefek


Atlanta,Dekalb,GA
$45 per month
about 14 days
BellSouth
CLEC party: BellSouth
"Didn't think they made companies like this any more."
"Speed... but that's not their fault"
"Had enough of your big box provider? I had. Atnex is the answer."
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    I spent over a year fighting with Comcast. I'd had their service for ages, through all the buyouts and ups and downs. Just over a year ago my service went to pot... and the battles began. Rule of thumb is this: if Comcast works in your area, good for you. If it doesn't, you're going to be miserable. I went through a year of credits, lies, morons on the phone, morons at my house, hangups, transfers back into the queue... Comcast single handedly destroyed my belief that humanity is naturally good.

    Atlantic Nexus restored it. No, I'm not getting the 6MB offered by Comcast, but what good was that doing me when it only worked at 2:10 PM on Tuesday? And don't think that the DSL install was flawless... I had inside wiring problems, outside wiring problems, you name it. Atnex stuck with me through it, determined to satisfy. When was the last time you actually communicated with the *same knowledgeable representative* every time you called or emailed? I did. I never had to re-explain my problems. I was never once told to "reboot my modem." Indeed, when they sent a tech out to follow up on a Bellsouth visit, it was actually the very same person I'd been conferring with all along! Unheard of! Furthermore, he was polite, concerned and knowledgeable. I eventually had to send him away, as I had an engagement, when he was ready to (after two hours, 6 phone calls between him and Bell, and after 8PM at night) help me run new wiring in my crawlspace.

    Seriously... this company is astounding. Since battling through my initial problems (and these guys are tenacious when it comes to dealing with Bell) my connection's been rock solid and totally dependable. I've not one iota of regret, and I sing their praises to anyone who'll listen.

    As for Comcast... yeah, I still hate 'em. If I had the means I'd load every employee, every contractor, every person that has anything to do with that company into a cannon and shoot them into the sun.

==============================================================

Review by bagfire2002


Decatur,Dekalb,GA
$33 per month
"incedible customer service"
"nada"
"more bang for the buck!"
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
     

    I've been with atnex for almost 6 months now and I cannot say enough great things about the customer service.This is my first computer and when I was inquiring about isp's I got all the horror stories .All the way from bait and switch,overcharging,charging for pulling into your driveway and doing nothing to poor customer service...then my boss told me he found atlantic nexus in search I called that night one day later I was up and running.The folks at Atnex are the friendlyest bunch of people... so much so I feel like i've just called a friend for help or advice.When I call, 99% of the time I talk with a live person.1% of the time I can leave a me ssage and almost immediatly someone returns my call.their also a customer support as well numerus times they have helped me with things dealing with my computor other than internet ?'s.Just recently Chris b.upgraded my hard drive for a reasonable price[I checked around] took my old drive and turned it into a external drive.I was having trouble with my e-mail service and after he remedied that problem he stayed on the phone and helped me find and import my old e-mail address book from my old drive to my new drive.To most that would be a simple task but I was totally lost and he could have said sorry and good luck but he did'nt he stayedon and figured it out and was patient throughout.I can't say enough great things about atnex.But if you get a chance to talk to Chris,Stan,and the rest of the gang you'll see what I mean.

==============================================================

Review by: kcepull

From: Roswell,Fulton,GA
Contract was $46 per month (6 months)
From order to live: about 1 days
Telco party: BellSouth
CLEC party: BellSouth
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
: "Live, friendly people. Quick turnaround. Great rates."
: "Upload speed is only 384K"
: "Wish I had switched sooner!"
     

    Having been with my previous ISP for 4 years, I was reluctant to switch. But, they finally added the straw that broke the camel's back, so I started looking elsewhere. Atlantic Nexus came up in the search results with good rates, good reviews, and I decided to give them a try.

    I called twice to ask questions. Both times a live person answered the phone, answered all of my questions with honest answers (no sales B.S.). No high-pressure sales pitch.

    I decided to pull the trigger last Thursday. I was going to be home on Friday, and wanted to be there when the cutover happened. I knew it was a long shot, but I asked if they could turn it around that quickly. They said they would see what they could do.

    Thursday afternoon, I still hadn't heard anything, so I called back. I was told that a technician would be calling me to confirm all the technical details, assign me an account, etc. I didn't get a call that day, which concerned me.

    Friday morning, I called back. I was told that to get the full 3.5M/384K speed, BellSouth had to add/upgrade some equipment in my neighborhood, and it couldn't be done until Monday. Knowing that I was asking a lot, I graciously said that would be fine - I didn't want to chance being down all weekend without service.

    Friday afternoon, I got a call from BellSouth saying I had been cut over (!). I went home to check things out, being skeptical (especially when BellSouth is involved). Sure enough, I had been cut over.

    I called AtNex tech support to find out how to reprogram my existing DSL modem (from my old ISP) to use the new static IP, etc. He walked me through it, and everything came up at the full 3.5/384 speed!

    I even got a call on Saturday to make sure that everything was still fine and to see if I had any questions.

    So far, 2.5 days later, it has been rock-solid, unlike my previous ISP.

    Bottom line:
    - $46/month (including fees)
    - 3.5MB up, 384K down
    - includes static IP address (their web site says this is extra, but it apparently comes with the faster service)
    - Up and running in about 24 hours - quicker than promised (or expected)
    - 6MB service coming 'soon' (next month)
    - no port blocks
    - servers OK

==============================================================

Review by: kluken

From: Marietta,Cobb,GA
Contract was $47 per month (6 months)
From order to live: about 1 days
Telco party: BellSouth
CLEC party: BellSouth
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
: "Great Fast DSL at gret price and excellent customer service!"
: "NONE"
: "Best deal in town for unblocked DSL"
     

    I was with Bellsouth until they blocked ports, then jumped to Speed Facroty. Speed Factory service was quirky at best and they always had lame excuses. Everyone else was lowering DSL prices and SF bascially was too arrogant thinking they were the best. I saw Atlantic Nexus on this site and the reviews were good. I contacted them and found their customer service to be great. There was a Bellsouth glitch getting me approved for DSL even though I already had DSL, but Atlantic Nexus kept on top of it and contacted me when the issue was cleared. I placed my order on a Monday afternoon and when I woke up Wednesday I was switched over!! Speeds are the same, but the net feels a bit more responsive, good by SF and hello Atlantic Nexus, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

==============================================================

Review by: paarlberg

From: Lilburn,Gwinnett,GA
Contract was $39 per month (12 months)
From order to live: about 2 days
Telco party: BellSouth
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
: "Very good for the money, excellent customer service"
: "Very good for the money, excellent customer service"
     

    I had a 2 day cutover to Atnex and I am very happy with them. 3.5/384 service is stable and getting very good speeds close to the 3.5 to the internet, only comes up short due to the limitation of BellSouth.
    I would recommend them to anyone wanting a good affordable stable connection.
    My only complaint is I don't like the authentication part (PPPoE), but I can live with that as long as it is stable. I believe this is a BellSouth requirement. So far it has been stable and I am a happy camper.

=====================================================================

Review by: shdesigns

From: Stone Mountain,Dekalb,GA
Contract was $32 per month
From order to live: about 2 days
Telco party: BellSouth
CLEC party: Covad
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
: "Simple fast DSL, Excellent tech support and sales people that are local and informed"
: "Web site does not have a lot of info. But not a problem."
: "Fast DSL, great support, no restrictions."
     

    Dropped EarthStink for their horrid tech support, unreliable service and ever-reduced value for money.
    Called on wendsday, was up and running on Friday. Took me a month to get EL working due to their problems.
    Since I did not need a modem, I opted for "no install" option. Emailed tech support and got replies within minutes. None of the "Prove to me you are not an idiot" stuff I had with EL and their canned responses. Just "here's what you asked for, any more questions just call me." And a phone #!.

    Only problem was switchover was a day early. Actually took a few hours.

==============================================================

Review by: wetback

From: Marietta,Cobb,GA
Contract was $45 per month (6 months)
From order to live: about 2 days
Telco party: BellSouth
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
: "Customer service was nearly perfect"
: "old service was turned off nearly a day before the hardware arrived"
: "Bye-bye old service, next time be competitive with your rates!"
     

    Had DSL (1.5/256k) service with a local outfit for 3+ years, they dropped their rates and when I tried to get those lower rates, they tacked on so many 'extras' that I was paying MORE...
    Looked around and found Atlantic Nexus with better rates and faster speeds (3.5/385K). One call confirimed I wanted to change, their customer service rep answered ALL my questions and even called back to follow up.
    My old service was turned off (12:30 AM) the day BEFORE the scheduled install, the modem arrived that day and I called to find out about my termination. As it was, they were able to set me up a full day early and the speeds I'm getting are close to what they promised.
    Point to note, this is NOT listed on their site, the 3.5M service INCLUDES the static IP.

==============================================================

Review by: CLECTECH

From: Buford,Gwinnett,GA
Contract was $36 per month (12 months)
From order to live: about 3 days
Telco party: BellSouth
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
: "Great intro offer - no install fee and 24.95 for forst 3 months."
: "Bell only lets them sell up to 1.5 megs on IFITL (fiber) DSL --- not ATNEX's fault though."
: "Great deal from a great company."
     

    The folks here know their stuff. The sales person was extremely knowledgeable. Gave me info so that I could avoid the pro install fee since it is fiber or IFITL DSL. I called tech support because I was not sure how to set my connection up. I was trying to rush and let the guy know that I was pretty sure it was my problem. I said I would call back if it still didn't work. He said "or I could just stay here with you until you can get on the net". He went back and forth with me doing pings. Imagine that! Tech support that tries to keep you on the line until everything is right!

==============================================================

Review by: ckd5150
but has only visited us 3 times

From: Acworth,Cobb,GA
Contract was $42 per month (6 months)
From order to live: about 2 days
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
: "Easy ordering, easy install"
: "Current svc shutoff should be after modem arrives"
: "Excellent"
     

    I had a large DSL vendor for years. When I started having problems, I was put through to people who were in another country and the problem was never resolved.
    So after 10 years of using my account, I changed. I went from 1.5 mb svc to the 3mb svc and it is great. Blazing compared to what I had. And the price dropped too! Price $42 for 3.0 mbps DSL. Dynamic IP, PPoE running through router.
    I called Atlantic Nexus on a Tuesday. By Thursday I had the new modem installed and new svc running.
    The only drawback is this: the turnaround was too quick!! Ordered on Tuesday, old svc off as of Thursday morning. Modem did not arrive until Thursday evening. Not a big deal, but modem should arrive before svc is cut off.
    Even when called tech support at 9:30pm that night someone answered real quick, spoke good English, and answered my questions to the fullest extent.
    Very happy thus far. I am testing at 2960 down and 317 up. Very decent.

==============================================================

Review by: overdude
but has only visited us 0 times

From: Marietta,Cobb,GA
Contract price not specified.
Telco party: BellSouth
CLEC party: BellSouth
: "3.5MB service, free modem, $5.00 Static IP, Superb 24/7 Support"
: "NONE"
: "Do yourself a favor - Ditch BellSouth and go with these guys"
     

    I have an extremely viable alternative for customers in the Atlanta area who find themselves frustrated or unhappy with BellSouth, Comcast, or any other user-unfriendly ISP. My short, but sincere story of my happy switch from BellSouth to Atlantic Nexus follows...
    After activating my new BellSouth DSL account, I was very upset to find out that my personal mail server was completely non-functional due to BellSouth's blocking of all non-bellsouth.net SMTP traffic, both inbound and outbound, on port 25. Man was I pissed, mainly due to the fact that I was promised by their sales department that I would not have any issues with hosting my own web and mail domains.
    So, after reading many of the forums here (mainly the BellSouth TelCo forum), contacting BellSouth to confirm that their port 25 bi-directional blocks were in fact true, and then searching this site for alternative providers, I found this extremely viable alternative:
    »www.atlanticnexus.com
    They offer 3.5MB service for $42.95/month, up to 2 static IP's at $5.00 extra for each one, a free modem that is sent for a minimal $9.95 shipping charge, and ABSOLULTELY NO BLOCKS ON ANY PORTS.
    More important than that, they took my order, submitted the disconnect order with BellSouth, and promised service activation within 3 days. I placed my order at 1am early Tuesday morning, and when I woke up this morning (Thursday), found my DSL connection down. I called Atlantic Nexus at about 10:30am to find out what was going on, and then found that I had full active service within the hour. AMAZING! That means that the time from order placement to fully active service was only about 2.5 days.
    Their customer service and tech support is available 24/7, and their phone tree consists of ONLY 1 THREE CHOICE OPTION - SALES, CUSTOMER SERVICE, OR SUPPORT.
    I highly recommend these guys. If you live in an area where you can get their service, do yourself a favor and ditch BellSouth for these guys. They've been in service for 3 years now, and boast a 99%+ customer satisfaction rate.
    Dump the big guys and give the little guy a chance, because these guys understand power users and so far, present a superb product that is backed by superior customer service. I'll be sure to post any negatives should they come up, but right now it looks like I finally found my new DSL provider.
    (By the way, my speed is testing at 3.0MB / 300kbps and the latency is minimal, if it even exists at all...)

    Mark

==============================================================

Review by: rhorist

From: Buford,Gwinnett,GA
Contract was $42 per month (12 months)
From order to live: about 1 days
Telco party: BellSouth
CLEC party: BellSouth
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
: "Excellent Communications, very relaible, Fast..."
: "None"
: "A Great company to work with and deliver what they promise."
     

    I was with another ISP. I had to give them a 30 day notice. Well on the day they said I was to be disconnected I was watching to see when my dsl line went down. It went down in the afternoon. I then called Atlantic Nexus to let them know and they had me back up and running on their network within 3 hours. Man that was fast. Their price and service is really hard to beat.. They are a great company to deal with and would recommend them to anyone. Keep up the great work....

==============================================================

Review by: phaqu

From: Marietta,Cobb,GA
Contract was $36 per month
From order to live: about 4 days
Pre Sales information:
Install Co-ordination:
Connection reliability:
Tech Support:
Services:
Value for money:
(ratings match consensus)
: "Very relaible, Excellent tech support. Solid connection."
: "none"
: "The best company you'll ever have to deal with"
     

    After many disappointments with other HSI companies, I had pretty much given up on getting broadband. Around May of this year, I happened across their number on google, so I gave them a call. I got an answering service so I hung up. Within a few minutes, some called me back from the company.( That blew me away)The person I talked with seemed very knowledgeable.He explained that they were an IT company that offers dsl service locally.I told them about some of the other issues I had with past isps,(Mainly the reasons I was told that I couldnt get HSI). Well the guy just kind of laughed and told me that none of them were good reasons. He did a test, and called me back. everything was good. They set up an appointment for 2 o'clock that coming Saturday. They called a day ahead to make sure someone was going to be home.Lo and behold, at 5 till 2 on Saturday there was a knock at the door. The tech plugged a few lines in , but had trouble getting logged in. He said that they had changed their passwords. He called another tech, and that guy said he would be right over. he showed up with another guy. I had 3 techs at my house making sure my connection was established. Plus, while they were there they helped me with a few other things.( They were all pretty cool, actualy) I have never had that kind of service from ANYONE before. I ordered the 1.5 for $36/ mth. The log in is a PPPoE but my router handles all of that.

    The first week,I noticed that my speeds were a little rocky. I called tech support, and the tech I talked to was one of the guys that set up my service. I did a few speed test for them, and he told me they would do some line tests. He called me back and said that I did have noise on my line. He told me they would switch my DSLAM first, but that didnt work. Then they told me it might be a modem problem.The whole time they were in connstant contact with me through phone or E-mail. About 3 days later, I got a new modem in the mail. No shipping, no deposit, no hassle. I swapped the modem and that was it. Got another follow up call to make sure everything was running smoothly.I havent had a single second of down time since. Ive only called with questions now, which they were happy to answer.( like I said they're all pretty cool)

    Ive had other isps and know how fustrating it can be dealing with a company that acts like it could care less about you or your business.It can take several calls and a couple of weeks to get anything done. These guys take customer support to the extreme.

==============================================================

jaydee770
I've heard good things...
 

I'm in the process of switching to Atlantic Nexus from Bellsouth-DSL after hearing good things about them from different sources. I wasn't even aware ATNEX existed until I overheard a highly flattering conversation about them while in a restaurant. That's something that I've never encountered with any other ISP. The rep I spoke with to order their service was impressive and CS-oriented. These are all very good signs!!

==============================================================

We would love to have your comments listed here!!
Sign up today and see for yourself why Atlantic Nexus is the only choice for DSL in Atlanta.

Check Availability
or
Contact us